Inaugural Concert of Petr Popelka

Inaugural Concert of Petr Popelka

Wiener Konzerthaus · Great Hall
Petr Popelka

Popelka personally

In his official inaugural concert at the Wiener Konzerthaus, Petr Popelka brings his great composer hero with him: Béla Bartók. ‘When I open a score by Bartók, it's always a source of inspiration for me,’ says Popelka, ‘the special thing is that he composes in a highly complex way, but appeals to everyone.’ For the inaugural concert, he has chosen the Concerto for Orchestra, ‘because every instrumental group is challenged here.’ Also his choice: the exceptional Russian pianist Anna Vinnitskaya, who will play the first piano concerto by Pyotr Tchaikovsky. An inaugural concert that is particularly close to the heart of the chief conductor and the orchestra. 

Petr Popelka


Petr Popelka
Anna Vinnitskaya
Wiener Symphoniker


Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 1 in b-flat minor op. 23 Pjotr Iljitsch Tschaikowski

1st movement: Allegro non troppo e molto maestoso – Allegro con spirito
2nd movement: Andantino simplice
3rd movement: Allegro con fuoco
Duration: 33 Minuten
— Intermission —
Concerto for Orchestra Sz 116 Béla Bartók

1st movement. Introduzione. Allegro non troppo – Allegro vivace
2nd movement: Giuoco delle coppie. Allegretto scherzando
3rd movement: Elegia. Andante non troppo
4th movement: Intermezzo interrotto. Allegretto
5th movement: Finale. Pesante – Presto
Duration: 37 Minuten


Wiener Konzerthaus - Great Hall
Lothringerstraße 20, 1030 Wien
To the map
This concert is currently only available for pre-sale to supporting members of the Wiener Symphoniker.