4 Events



That outstanding musicians are able to perform superbly without a conductor is proven by the Wiener Symphoniker every year with their traditional chamber music festival. The individual concerts conceived in tandem with the the orchestra’s symphonic programmes. Not only do they explore new and exciting cross connections among a composer’s works – they also impressively confirm that chamber music-making forms the foundation of all symphonic creation. While on the big stage Philippe Jordan traces the Bach Renaissance, the chamber music series begins with an even-ing dedicated to the ‘Bohemian Bach’, Jan Dismas Zelenka, whose highly original works have seen a rediscovery in recent years. With a performance of the composer’s first string sextet, the second concert casts an eye upon the chamber music output of Johannes Brahms. In the big Beethoven anniversary year, the composer’s chamber music cannot be left out: three of his most beautiful and influential quartets are here interpreted by the internationally acclaimed HABE-Quartett. There is no direct counterpart to the remaining concert of the series: a large Kurt Weill programme with the Anna Rothschild Ensemble. 

Schubert Saal Wiener Konzerthaus
Wiener Konzerthaus, Schubert Hall
Gansch, Kaiser, Gillinger, Büchler, Eisterer, Leipold / Zelenka, Telemann, Fasch
Chamber Music I
Guillermo Büchler 
Paul Kaiser 
Stefanie Gansch 
Jan Dismas Zelenka
Sonata No. 4 in g minor for two oboes, bassoon and basso continuo ZWV 181,4
Georg Philipp Telemann
Trio sonata in F major for violin, bassoon and basso continuo TWV 42:F1
Johann Friedrich Fasch
Sonata in F major for violin, oboe, bassoon and basso continuo FaWV N:F4
Schubert Saal Wiener Konzerthaus
Wiener Konzerthaus, Schubert Hall
Orininskiy, Pöchhacker, Bernhart, Bernhart, Günther-Mészáros, Günther / Brahms, P. I. Tchaikovsky
Chamber Music II
Stefan Pöchhacker 
Nikolay Orininskiy 
Roman Bernhart 
Johannes Brahms
String sextet No. 1 in G major op. 18
Pjotr Iljitsch Tschaikowski
String Sextet in d minor op. 70 "Souvenir de Florence"
Anna_Rothschild_Ensemble (c) Emmer_Zak.jpg
Musikverein Wien, Brahms Hall
Sugár, Anna Rothschild Ensemble / Weill
Chamber Music III
Gergely Sugár 
Orsolya Korcsolán 
Anna Rothschild Ensemble Wien
Kurt Weill
Concerto for violin and wind orchestra op. 12
Kurt Weill
"Kleine Dreigroschenmusik", Suite from the "Dreigroschenoper" for wind orchestra, piano and percussion
Schubert Saal Wiener Konzerthaus
Wiener Konzerthaus, Schubert Hall
HABE Quartett Wien / Beethoven
Chamber Music IV
HABE Quartett Wien
string quartet
Alexander Burggasser 
Ai Miwa 
Ludwig van Beethoven
String Quartet G major op. 18 No. 2
Ludwig van Beethoven
String quartet C major op. 59 No. 3
Ludwig van Beethoven
String quartet F major op. 135