Wiener Konzerthaus, Great Hall

Weigle, Lisiecki / Mozart, Rott

Horizontal Tabs

Under the baton of Sebastian Weigle, the Vienna Symphony Orchestra explore the phenomenon of artists who were cut down in their artistic prime. Their two concerts include an interpretation of Mozart's famous C-Major concerto by the 22-year-old pianist Jan Lisiecki (Mozart himself was just seven years older when he composed the work) and Hans Rott's First — and only — Symphony. Rott, a highly gifted pupil of Bruckner, but who died prematurely, was rediscovered in the 1980s and Grillparzer's famous epitaph for Schubert could also apply easily to him: «Here the art of music has entombed a rich treasure, but even fairer hopes.»


Wiener Symphoniker


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 21 in C major KV 467
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 21 in C major KV 467
1st movement: Allegro maestoso
2nd movement: Andante
3rd movement: Allegro vivace assai
Composer: ***
Hans Rott
Symphony No. 1 in E major
Symphony No. 1 in E major
1st movement: Alla breve
2nd movement: Very slowly
3rd movement: Crisp and lively
4th movement: Very slow – animate

More Dates

Wiener Konzerthaus, Great Hall


Wiener Konzerthaus
Lothringerstraße 20, 1037 Wien
Wiener Konzerthaus | Great Hall

You could also be interested in

Wiener Symphoniker (c) Andreas Balon
Bregenz, Festspielhaus
Orozco-Estrada, Bitenc, Perczak, Kahánek, Prager Philharmonischer Chor / Martinu, Dvorák
Compact Disc
Mozart: D major KV 537 "Krönungskonzert", B-flat major KV 595
Compact Disc
Mozart: Piano Concerto F major KV 413, A major KV 414, C major KV 415