Musikverein Wien, Great Hall

Orozco-Estrada, Kavakos / Beethoven, Dvorák

Horizontal Tabs

“What a top-level event that one could not stop raving about even the day after.” The Austrian daily newspaper “DIE PRESSE” was full of praise on the occasion of the debut of the Orchestra’s incoming principal conductor, Andrés Orozco-Estrada, with the Wiener Symphoniker at the Bregenz Festival last year. The programme then included Dvorák’s popular Symphony No. 9 “From the New World” which Orozco-Estrada will present again at his last concerts with the Wiener Symphoniker prior to his official start as principal conductor. Now, this work will be combined with Beethoven’s virtuoso Violin Concerto. The soloist to be heard for this milestone in the history of music, this touchstone of artistic maturity and one of the greatest challenges of the violin concerto repertoire altogether, will be Leonidas Kavakos, a close friend and companion of the Orchestra. Described by the classical music magazine THE STRAD as “violinist of violinists”, the Viennese audience can see once again why Kavakos is currently considered one of the most admired and sought-after artists in international musical life.


Wiener Symphoniker


Ludwig van Beethoven
Concerto for violin and orchestra in D major op. 61
Concerto for violin and orchestra in D major op. 61
1st movement: Allegro ma non troppo
2nd movement: Larghetto
3rd movement: Rondo. Allegro
Composer: ***
Antonín Dvorák
Symphony No. 9 in e minor op. 95 "From the New World"
Symphony No. 9 in e minor op. 95 "From the New World"
1st movement: Adagio – Allegro molto
2nd movement: Largo
3rd movement: Scherzo. Molto vivace
4th movement: Allegro con fuoco

More Dates

Musikverein Wien, Great Hall
Musikverein Wien, Great Hall


Musikverein Wien
Musikvereinsplatz 1, 1010 Wien
Musikverein Wien | Great Hall

Similar events

Montreux, Montreux Music & Convention Centre
Orozco-Estrada, Buchbinder / L. van Beethoven