Musikverein Wien, Great Hall
Jordan, Kampe, Sindram, Fritz, Pape, Thibaudet, Singverein / Beethoven

Horizontal Tabs

The climax of the Wiener Symphoniker's Beethoven symphony cycle in the Wiener Musikverein is, naturally, the category-defying Symphony No. 9. Tragic and dramatic in the first movement, demonically comical in the second, lyrical and exalted in the third and all at once in the final movement with a wonderful ensemble of singers consisting of Anja Kampe, Daniela Sindram, Burkhard Fritz and René Pape. A crowning conclusion to the season is guaranteed. It will be preceded by Beethoven's grandiose "Choral Fantasy" under the baton of Music Director Philippe Jordan and with Artist in Residence Jean-Yves Thibaudet as "fantasising" soloist. The "Little Ninth", as it is also affectionately known, has clear similarities with the most important choral finale in musical history in terms of compositional technique, motifs and the joining of vocal and instrumental forces. With this communion of choir and orchestra Philippe Jordan evokes two ideals: the art in the "Choral Fantasy" and the joy in the "Ninth".


Singverein der Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde
mixed choir 
Wiener Symphoniker


Ludwig van Beethoven
Fantasy for Piano, Chorus and Orchestra in c minor op. 80 "Choral Fantasy"
Fantasy for Piano, Chorus and Orchestra in c minor op. 80 "Choral Fantasy"
1st movement: Adagio – Allegro – Meno Allegro
2nd movement: Finale. Allegro – Allegretto ma non troppo, quasi Andante con moto
Ludwig van Beethoven
Symphony No. 9 in d minor op. 125
Symphony No. 9 in d minor op. 125
1st movement: Allegro ma non troppo – un poco maestoso
2nd movement: Molto vivace – Presto
3rd movement: Adagio molto e cantabile – Andante moderato
4th movement: Finale. Presto – Allegro assai

More Dates

Musikverein Wien, Great Hall


Musikverein Wien
Musikvereinsplatz 1, 1010 Wien
Musikverein Wien | Great Hall

You could also be interested in

Musikverein Wien, Great Hall
Jordan / Kurtág, Bruckner 7
Beethoven_Symphonies 1_3 Teaser
Compact Disc
Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 1 and 3