Wiener Konzerthaus, Great Hall
Jordan, Fischer, Rett / Beethoven, Mendelssohn Bartholdy, Mahler

Horizontal Tabs

“It’s probably not possible to play the violin significantly better or more beautifully”, said a reviewer for the Berliner Tagesspiegel of one concert by this year’s Artist in Residence at the Wiener Symphoniker, Julia Fischer, who will begin her residency with these concerts. Fittingly, the programme features the Violin Concerto in E minor by Felix Mendelssohn – for many the violin concerto par excellence – for which Fischer is widely regarded as the ideal interpreter. Music Director Philippe Jordan has correspondingly high expectations of the collaboration: “It’s quite simply a joy to work with her – not least because we’ll learn so much from her.”


Wiener Symphoniker


Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in e minor op. 64
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in e minor op. 64
1st movement: Allegro molto appassionato
2nd movement: Andante
3rd movement: Allegro non troppo - Allegro molto vivace
Gustav Mahler
Symphony No. 1 in D major
Symphony No. 1 in D major
1st movement: Slowly, dragging. In the beginning very restrained
2nd movement: Moving strongly, but not too quickly
3rd movement: Solemnly and measured, without dragging
4th movement: Stormily agitated

This concert is part of the following subscriptions

More Dates

Wiener Konzerthaus, Great Hall


Wiener Konzerthaus
Lothringerstraße 20, 1037 Wien
Wiener Konzerthaus | Great Hall

You could also be interested in

Musikverein Wien, Great Hall
Jordan / Kurtág, Bruckner 7
Beethoven_Symphonies 1_3 Teaser
Compact Disc
Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 1 and 3