Heldenplatz Vienna
Open air concert

Horizontal Tabs

The Austrian Mauthausen Committee (MKÖ) holds together with the Wiener Symphoniker and supported by many other organizations a large festive concert, Festival of Joy, at Vienna's Heldenplatz with free entrance. Occasion of this festive concert is the unconditional surrender of the Nazi regime and the end of the Second World War in Europe on the same day 70 years ago. ORF III "Kultur und Information" will broadcast the event live on TV at 8.15 PM. Video messages from the president of the Documentation Centre of the Austrian Resistance (DÖW) Rudolf Edlinger, the president of the Vienna Jewish Community Oskar Deutsch, and the ambassadors of France Pascal Teixeira da Silva, the US Alexa Wesner, Great Britain and Northern Ireland Susan le Jeune d’Allegeershecque and the Russian Federation Sergej Netschajew will begin the "Festival of joy" and ensure a worthy commemoration of the 70th anniversary of Austria's liberation.


Michaela Kaune 
Gábor Bretz 
Singverein der Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde
mixed choir 
Wiener Symphoniker


Leoš Janácek
"Sokol Fanfare" (Allegretto) from "Sinfonietta"
1st movement ("Sokol Fanfare"): Allegretto
Composer: Leoš Janácek (*, ✝)
Welcome by Moderatorin Katharina Stemberger
Welcoming speech by Willi Mernyi, chairman of the Austrian Mauthausen Committee
Speech by Councillor for Culture Dr. Andreas Mailath-Pokorny, Vice-Mayor Mag.a Maria Vassilakou, Vice-Chancellor Dr. Reinhold Mitterlehner, Chancellor Werner Faymann
Ludwig van Beethoven
Symphony No. 9 in d minor op. 125 "Choral", 1st movement (Allegro ma non troppo – un poco maestoso)
1st movement: Allegro ma non troppo – un poco maestoso
Ludwig van Beethoven
Symphony No. 9 in d minor op. 125 "Choral", 2nd movement (Molto vivace – Presto)
2nd movement: Molto vivace – Presto
Speech by contemporary witness and resistance fighter Helga Emperger
Speech by Federal President Dr. Heinz Fischer
Ludwig van Beethoven
Symphony No. 9 in d minor op. 125 "Choral", 3rd movement (Adagio molto e cantabile – Andante moderato)
3rd movement: Adagio molto e cantabile – Andante moderato
Ludwig van Beethoven
Symphony No. 9 in d minor op. 125 "Choral", 4th movement (Finale. Presto)
4th movement: Finale. Presto



Wiener Heldenplatz

Similar events

Musikverein Wien, Great Hall
Hruša, Knežíková, Polácková, Sem / Janacek, Dvorák