Wiener Konzerthaus, Great Hall

Jordan, Bronfman / Brahms, Stravinsky

Horizontal Tabs

Musical milestones characterise the concerts of the Wiener Symphoniker in 2019-20, a season which, in the history of the Orchestra and its Music Director, represents itself both a milestone and a parting of ways. For this is the last season which Philippe Jordan will shape in this capacity together with the Wiener Symphoniker. This is now a time for review and also for a metaphorical outlook: namely through ground-breaking creations in the history of music. There, the work of Johannes Brahms forms a natural centre. Last but not least, this will give prominence to his instrumental concertos at the Wiener Konzerthaus concert hall: technically demanding works where Brahms avoids all purely external brilliance and, instead, employs the sounds of the soul whose tenderness, however, is often threatened by harsh confrontation. For his Piano Concerto No. 1, none other than Yefim Bronfman, Artist in Residence during this season, will sit at the grand piano. This will be combined with another “milestone”: Stravinsky’s Le Sacre du printemps which created a huge scandal at its premiere in 1913.


Philippe Jordan 
Yefim Bronfman 
Wiener Symphoniker


Johannes Brahms
Concerto for piano and orchestra No. 1 in d minor op. 15
Concerto for piano and orchestra No. 1 in d minor op. 15
Composer: ***
Igor Strawinski
"Le Sacre du printemps" ("The Rite of Spring"), Ballet in two parts
"Le Sacre du printemps" ("The Rite of Spring"), Ballet in two parts
1911-13, rev. 1922 und 1943
Part I "L'Adoration de la Terre" ("Adoration of the Earth")
No. 1 Introduction
No. 2 "Les Augures printaniers" ("Augurs of Spring")
No. 3 "Jeu du rapt" ("Ritual of Abduction")
No. 4 "Rondes printanières" ("Spring Rounds")
No. 5 "Jeux des cités rivales" ("Ritual of the Rival Tribes")
No. 6 "Cortège du sage: Le Sage" ("Procession of the Sage: The Sage")
No. 7 "Danse de la terre" ("Dance of the Earth")
Part II "Le Sacrifice" ("The Sacrifice")
No. 8 Introduction
No. 9 "Cercles mystérieux des adolescentes" ("Mystic Circles of the Young Girls")
No. 10 "Glorification de l'élue" ("Glorification of the Chosen One")
No. 11 "Évocation des ancêtres" ("Evocation of the Ancestors")
No. 12 "Action rituelle des ancêtres" ("Ritual Action of the Ancestors")
No. 13 "Danse sacrale" ("Sacrificial Dance")

This concert is part of the following subscriptions

Lahav Shani (c) Marco Borggreve
Wiener Symphoniker-Zyklus Plus
Philippe Jordan Konzert Musikverein Wien (c) Johannes Ifkovits
Wiener Symphoniker-Zyklus



Wiener Konzerthaus

Similar events

Han-Na Chang
Gwangju, Gwangju Culture & Art Center
Chang, Liu / Beethoven, Mozart