Wiener Konzerthaus, Great Hall

Hruša, Hakhnazaryan / Beethoven, Elgar, Shostakovich

Horizontal Tabs

The Czech conductor Jakub Hruša is always welcome at the podium of the Wiener Symphoniker. Once ranked by Grammophone magazine as one of ten conductors “on the verge of greatness”, his concerts are major events even in Viennese concert life, which is hardly lacking in highpoints. At this year’s concert he focuses on two composers who are particularly dear to him: Ludwig van Beethoven and Dmitri Shostakovich. At the heart of the programme, however, is Edward Elgar’s last great orchestral work, the brooding Cello Concerto. With the “cello phenomenon” (Der Standard) Narek Hakhnazaryan, virtuosity in a class of its own is guaranteed.


Wiener Symphoniker


Ludwig van Beethoven
Symphony No. 1 in C major op. 21
Symphony No. 1 in C major op. 21
1st movement: Adagio molto – Allegro con brio
2nd movement: Andante cantabile con moto
3rd movement: Menuetto. Allegro molto e vivace
4th movement: Finale. Adagio – Allegro molto e vivace
Edward Elgar
Concerto for Violoncello and Orchestra in e minor op. 85
Concerto for Violoncello and Orchestra in e minor op. 85
Composer: Edward Elgar
1st movement: Adagio – Moderato
2nd movement: Lento – Allegro molto
3rd movement: Adagio
4th movement: Allegro – Moderato – Allegro ma non troppo
Composer: ***
Dmitri Schostakowitsch
Symphony No. 9 in E flat major op. 70
Symphony No. 9 in E flat major op. 70
1st movement: Allegro
2nd movement: Moderato
3rd movement: Presto
4th movement: Largo
5th movement: Allegretto

This concert is part of the following subscriptions

Philippe Jordan Konzert Musikverein Wien (c) Julia Wesely
Wiener Symphoniker-Zyklus

More Dates

Wiener Konzerthaus, Great Hall


Wiener Konzerthaus
Lothringerstraße 20, 1037 Wien
Wiener Konzerthaus | Great Hall

You could also be interested in

Johannes Wildner (c Lukas Beck)
Musikverein Wien, Great Hall
Wildner, Simsa, Prinz, Wiener Singverein / "Jauchzet, frohlocket!"
Beethoven Schuber
Compact Disc
Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 1-9
Beethoven 4/5
Compact Disc
Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 4/5