Wiener Konzerthaus, Great Hall

Herreweghe, Faust / Beethoven, Schubert

Buy tickets online
Booking for this concert hasn’t opened yet.
Booking for supportinger members opens on 02.03.2020, for the general public on 09.03.2020.
PLEASE NOTEYour our order via the Online Ticketing Shop of the Wiener Symphoniker will be processed by the Ticket- & Service-Center of the Wiener Konzerthaus. We take the protection of your personal data very seriously and handle your data in accordance with statutory provisions. Please note the information in our privacy policy.

Horizontal Tabs

Both Ludwig van Beethoven and Franz Schubert are at the transition between the classical and the romantic periods. It was actually only due to the soloist at the premiere that Beethoven wrote a Violin Concerto at all, namely Franz Clement, at the time concert master at the Theatre by the River Wien, who is said to have asked for one. This is why Beethoven wrote on the manuscript “Concerto par Clemenza pour Clement” (Concerto out of compassion for Clement). Whilst Beethoven’s work certainly provided the late romantics with a virtual template for this genre, the premiere was, however, fairly unsuccessful. This has now changed dramatically and violin stars find their very own interpretations between brilliant virtuosity and elegant objectivity. In the Beethoven year 2020, the German violinist Isabelle Faust will present her own interpretation with the Wiener Symphoniker under the direction of Philippe Herreweghe. This will be contrasted with Schubert’s Symphony No. 4 (“Tragic”) which the only 19-year-old one himself gave this epithet, a subject of ongoing controversy.


Philippe Herreweghe 
Isabelle Faust 
Wiener Symphoniker


Ludwig van Beethoven
Concerto for violin and orchestra in D major op. 61
Concerto for violin and orchestra in D major op. 61
1st movement: Allegro ma non troppo
2nd movement: Larghetto
3rd movement: Rondo. Allegro
Composer: ***
Franz Schubert
Symphony No. 4 in c minor D 417 "Tragic"
Symphony No. 4 in c minor D 417 "Tragic"
1st movement: Adagio molto
2nd movement: Andante
3rd movement: Menuetto. Allegro vivace
4th movement: Allegro

More Dates

Wiener Konzerthaus, Great Hall


Wiener Konzerthaus
Lothringerstraße 20, 1037 Wien
Wiener Konzerthaus | Great Hall

Ticket Sale

Similar events

Philippe Jordan Konzert Musikverein Wien (c) Julia Wesely
Budapest, Franz Liszt Academy of Music
Jordan / Beethoven