Orchestra Concerts · Bregenzer Festspiele 2018

Orozco-Estrada · Afkham · Canellakis


The Wiener Symphoniker will spend next summer as Orchestra in Residence at the Bregenz Festival like every summer since the foundation of the Festival in 1946.

More on the history: here

The Symphony Orchestra will then live and work for about one-and-a-half months in their second home at Lake Constance. Along with appearances as an opera orchestra during performances on the lake stage and at the festival opera house, the enthusiastic summer residents of the Austrian state of Vorarlberg will again, as per tradition, present three orchestral concerts with renowned conductors and soloists in classical music. 

23 July · Andrés Orozco-Estrada · Works by Martinů and Dvořák

The first orchestral concert under the direction of the designated principal conductor Andrés Orozco-Estrada will be marked by Czech music. The two composers of this concert, Bohuslav Martinů and Antonín Dvořák, had equally worked outside their homeland and received important impulses for their music. The diverse musical life of Paris had a formative influence on Martinů. His double concerto was composed in Switzerland in 1938 and performed a few decades later in the USA where Martinů had fled during the Second World War. There, Dvořák had directed the New York Conservatory of Music a few decades earlier. In his Symphony “From the New World”, he also integrated musical elements of the original population. His Te Deum was written to celebrate the 400th anniversary of the discovery of America.

29 July · David Afkham · Works by Richard Strauss and Maurice Ravel

6 August · Karina Canellakis · Works by Beethoven and Larcher 

Bregenz Festival
Wiener Symphoniker (c) Andreas Balon
Bregenz, Festspielhaus
Orozco-Estrada, Bitenc, Perczak, Kahánek, Prager Philharmonischer Chor / Martinu, Dvorák
Wiener Symphoniker (c) Andreas Balon
Bregenz, Festspielhaus
Afkham, Aimard / R. Strauss, Ravel
Wiener Symphoniker (c) Andreas Balon
Bregenz, Festspielhaus
Canellakis, Appl / Larcher, Beethoven